What are the longest mountain ranges in Australia

Mountain Ranges are a group of mountains that are geographically close to each other, usually separated by valleys or mountain passes, referring to mycustomessay.com sample definition.With Australia being the largest country in Oceania and 6th in the whole world by total area, it’s bound to have a lot of them.

Here are some of the longest mountain ranges in Australia:

Great Dividing Range

The Great Dividing Range (also called the Eastern Highlands) is Australia’s longest mountain range and the fifth-longest in the world. It extends to more than 3,500 kilometers (2,175 mi) from Dauan Island in the Torres Strait of Cape York Peninsula, Queensland, to the central plain at the Grampians in western Victoria. The width of the range varies from about 160 km (100 mi) to over 300 km (190 mi).

McIlwraith Range

The McIlwraith Range is a part of the Great Dividing Range. It’s rugged terrain covers about 3,000 square kilometers (1,200 sq mi) on the Cape York Peninsula of Queensland and lies about 15 kilometers (9.3 mi) east and 550 kilometers (340 mi) north of the towns Coen and Cairns, respectively. The range experiences rainfall of about 1,500 millimeters (59 in) per year.

MacDonnell Ranges

The MacDonnell Ranges, also known as Tjoritja in Arrernte, is a 644 km (400 mi) long mountain range in central Australia mountain range and a temporary Australian bioregion with an area of 3,929,444 hectares (9,709,870 acres). The range consists of parallel ridges, many spectacular gaps and gorges, and areas of Aboriginal importance.

Gregory Range

The Gregory Range, also a part of the Great Dividing Range, is a mountain range that extends in an east-west direction for approximately 400 km (250 mi), located in Far North Queensland, Australia. The range is in an area vegetated with acacia, Eucalyptus miniata, and spinifex on the ridge tops, with areas of paperbark found further down the ridges.

Victorian Alps

The Victorian Alps is home to Victoria’s largest national park, the Alpine National park. They are also a part of the Great Dividing Range with an extensive length of approximately 400km (250 mi) northeast-southwest direction and a width of approximately 200km (120mi) east-west. The Victorian Alps is also the source of a significant number of Victoria’s waterways.

Petermann Ranges

The Petermann Ranges are in central Australia. The range was formed about 550 million years ago and spans for about 320 km (200 mi) across Western Australia and the Northern Territory.

Mount Lofty Ranges

The Mount Lofty Ranges are located just to the east of Adelaide, South Australia. The mountain range stretches northwards for over 300 kilometers (190 mi). The mountains experience moderate rainfall, hot summers, and cool winters.

Musgrave Ranges

Musgrave Ranges, located in Central Australia and situated between the Great Victoria Desert and the Gibson Desert. The mountain ranges have a length of 210 kilometers (130 mi), with the highest peak at 1,435 meters (4,708 ft) being Mount Woodroffe.

Carnarvon Range

The Carnarvon Range is a plateau segment of the Great Dividing Range located in Central Queensland, Australia, and is 160 km in length. It houses a native plant cycad species called the Macrozamia moorei.

Moonbi Range

The Moonbi Range, a part of the Great Dividing Range, extends to 150 km (93 mi) in a north-northwest direction and is situated in the Northern Tablelands of New South Wales.

Mitchell Ranges

Mitchell Ranges are a mountain range that is approximately 115 kilometers (71 mi) long from north to south direction with a width of approximately 15 kilometers (9 mi). Rocks such as Proterozoic sedimentary, which include arkose, feldspathic sandstone, moderately folded quartz sandstone, and pebbly sandstones, can be found in the range.

Brindabella Range

The Brindabella Range, commonly called The Brindabellas, is a mountain range located in New South Wales and the Australian Capital Territory. The Brindabellas with a length of 100 km (62 mi) N-S are visible to the west of Canberra and form an important part of the city’s landscape.

Gibraltar Range

The Gibraltar Range is situated in the Northern Tablelands, New South Wales, Australia. The range extends for about 100 kilometers (62 mi) forms the watershed between the Timbarra and Clarence rivers.

Liverpool Range

The Liverpool Range, a component of the Great Dividing Range, runs for about 100 kilometers (62 mi) westwards. It begins from the Barrington Tops, a volcanic plateau, and serves as a breeding ground for very heavy summer thunderstorms.

Blue Mountains Range

The Blue Mountains Range comprises a range of mountains that runs for approximately 96 km (60 mi) with a northwest-southeast direction.

Mount Royal Range

The Mount Royal Range is on the eastern side of the Great Dividing Range. It generally extends to the southeast for about 95 km (59 mi).

Illawarra Range

Officially the Illawarra Range, the Illawarra escarpment, is a plateau-eroded outcrop mountain range located west of the Illawarra coastal plain south of Sydney that extends from north-northeast for approximately 92 km (57 mi).